Thayer’s Gone Kiwi: School Days at the Mount


Hi!  I’m Thayer, and I’m going to tell you about school in the Mount.  I am in Year 1 at Mount Maunganui Primary School.  We have maybe 25 kids in my class, all 5 and 6 years old.  I am six.  I am one of the older kids.

This is me in my classroom

This is me in my classroom at the start of the Term – I still have my bandaged leg from my farm stay injury!

I have two teachers and their names are Mrs. Vanderpole and Ms. Lewis.  Mrs. Vanderpole is our real teacher and Ms. Lewis is the assisting teacher.  Both of them are really nice.  Every day when I come in they smile at me. It makes my heart beat happily.  Mrs. Vanderpole is sometimes a little bit strict. Some kids get growled at when they are distracting the class but not me. But otherwise she’s sweet as a pumpkin.

Ms. Lewis is not mean at all. She is as sweet as a little peach.  Here are two photos of my teachers:

Mrs. Vanderpole taking roll

Mrs. Vanderpole taking roll

Me and Ms. Lewis

Me and Ms. Lewis

MY SCHOOL DAY

In the morning, I scooter to school at about 8:30am. I don’t have to wear a helmet OR shoes because there is no broken glass anywhere and the side walks are very safe.  And the rules are pretty different here.  But I do have to wear a helmet on my bike.

Zoe and I love to scooter to school

Zoe and I love to scooter to school

Entering school

Entering school

When I get to school, I hang up my backpack on a hook by my classroom.  

My favorite hook

My favorite hook

And then I come in, get all my stuff ready, like putting my book sack in the bin with all the other kids’ book sacks.  This bag holds my nightly reading homework. 

Book sacks, mine is PINK

Book sacks, mine is PINK

My classroom, before it gets messy

My classroom, before it gets messy

Then the teacher takes roll.  If you are wondering what a roll is, it’s so you know that everyone is at school. For example, Mrs. Vanderpole or Ms. Lewis would say, “Good Morning Thayer,” and then I would say, “Good Morning Mrs. Vanderpole” or “Good Morning Ms. Lewis.”  See?  It’s as easy as… scootering to school!

After roll we get right to work.  We normally do Creative Writing first.  Creative writing is where you make up your own stories and then you have to write them creatively and differently. It is very fun. And I am one of the first ones to finish sometimes. My stories are real live things, not just things that I make up. And I also get to draw pictures with my stories.  My other subjects are Reading, and try to guess what they call math here…. MATHS!  

Working in a math group with Ms. Lewis

Working in a math group with Ms. Lewis

And I also do Handwriting and I have extra homework sometimes because Mrs. Vanderpole gives so much homework.  Homework is easy and I love it because it is fun and sometimes I bring it in early.  I don’t have homework at my school at home so I’m not used to it but after a few days I started to get the hang of it.

This is my desk, with a workbook on it

This is my chair, with my workbook on the table

MY FRIENDS

I have lots of friends and the best part about having friends is that they protect you a lot. I love everyone around me but sometimes the boys are mean. At recess I like to play games like house or bunnies.  Today I had so much fun at school because Mrs. Vanderpole brought out a huge bubble maker that made huge ginormous bubbles. I popped one of them and it smashed right onto my nose. It felt weird.

My friend Lilly

My friend Lilly

My friend Georgia Rose

My friend Georgia Rose

The playground we like to play on

The playground we like to play on

TRY-ATHALON

On the day of my Try-athalon at school I was really scared.  I wished to be first in my group, not third or fourth.  Fourth is the last if you were wondering.  I had a group of 4 girls and we started with the swim.  We did one lap down and then back.  Then it was time to walk to our bikes. We had to ride all the way down the sidewalk and out of school grounds.  And then we came back on school grounds, on the field, biked around the field. Then it was time to start running!  I ran around the field one more time and finished second place in my group!  Then I got my towel and sat under the big oak tree with the other kids until it was all done.

Before the start of the race, I feel nervous!

Before the start of the race, I feel nervous!

Waiting for my turn to swim

Waiting for my turn to swim

I got a good start!

I got a good start!

Walking to find my bike

Walking to find my bike

Running the last part

Running the last part

I find my towel to dry off

I find my towel to dry off

I feel proud and excited that I did a try-athalon

I feel proud and excited that I did a try-athalon

THE MOUNTIE

The Mountie is a Mountie character. And why they called it a Mountie is because it’s a mountain with legs and a hat, and it also helps other people so it’s a Communicator, Self Manager, Team Player and a Learner.  

Poster about the Mountie

Poster about the Mountie

You learn to be a Mountie by getting “ticks” and if you are wondering what “ticks” are, they are little check marks on a board in the classroom where you are sitting.  A tick is given when you help or do good things like a Mountie. Whenever you get a tick it is good luck.  I only have one more row to go with ticks until I’m starting a new fresh one. Seriously!  I have a lot of ticks. I know that at home, ticks give you Lyme Disease but here in the Mount they are good things.

I get ticks for raising my hand instead of interrupting

I get ticks for raising my hand instead of interrupting

HIP HOP

On Tuesday mornings I go to Hip Hop at my school at 8:15am before school starts.  I have so much fun at hip hop and we learn cool routines. I have lots of moves in my routine.  We are doing a song called La Bamba. It goes like this: “La la la la la la la BAMBA.”  I like to partner with Rico. He is a very nice boy. I like to partner with him because he’s not too crazy like the other boys.  We are good partners.  Whew!  I love hip hop.  “Hip Hop BABY don’t STOP!”

Me and Rico

Me and Rico

Here is a video clip of Rico and I practicing part of our dance. 

At the end of hip hop class Zoe brings me her marshmallows that she gets on her hot chocolate date with Mom while I’m in class.  She is so nice to share them with me. I love this part of class. A lot. 

Yummy!

Yummy!

I am so happy that I came here to the Mount. At first I was a little bit scared but now I know that it’s going to be just fine.  Bye!  See you later! 

Another day of school ahead!

Another day of school ahead!

Please may you comment on my blog?  Because I worked SO hard to do this, but no offense.  And come back to Demersgoneglobal for our next amazing post!  This time by Schuyler! Go Schuyler! 

Categories: NEW ZEALAND, Thayer's Gone Kiwi: School Days at the Mount

20 comments

  1. Wow Thayer! What a good job on your blog! I really feel like I understand exactly what your life at Mount is all about. Can’t wait to give you a big hug. Love, Pops.

  2. Well, Thayer, I can see that writing is a talent all of the Demers girls excel at! I can hardly believe you are only 6 because the way you describe things makes them seem so real. I’ve read that you’re involved in lots of activities, and it was so much fun to watch you and Rico doing your hip hop routine.

    The weather in Mount must be beautiful; the sky is so blue, you are all so tanned, and you’re dressed like summer. Can you even imagine all that snow back in New Hampshire????

    Enjoy your adventure and I look forward to your next post.

    Elsa

  3. OMGosh! The marshmallows,”I like this part. A lot”. !!!!! And thank you for sharing the video.

  4. Oh Thayer, you did such a great job on your blog! How interesting your school is, you seem so happy!!! I bet you are such a great student everyone must love you as we all do here in the States..I was so happy to see you hip hop how fun is that??? Great way to start your day. Your teachers seem so nice also. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your school with everyone.
    Love and miss you
    Auntie JOJO

  5. First of all, I need to find your rainbow shorts in my size! Secondly, are you as sweet as a pumpkin!! And lastly, I loved your hip hop routine and can’t wait for you to show me your moves in person!

  6. Sent from my iPad

    >

  7. Thayer! I loved your blog! I have a few questions for you. Which part of the triathlon was the hardest? I’ve always wanted to try to do a triathlon, and I hear that the bike to run is the hardest part because your legs feel like jelly! Did you have this experience? Also, great job on your hip-hop dance. I love the song LaBamba. Annika will read your blog tonight before she goes to bed, and I’m sure she’ll have lots to say! Love Beth Finelli

  8. Thayer, are you sure that you are only 6? You write like a teenager. It was fun to meet your friends and teachers. Your day sounds wonderful! You are one busy girl!
    You did so well in your triathlon…..great training. That Demers family is so athletic,
    Keep writing it is all so interesting! Love you and miss you tons! Mem and Pep

  9. Holy Macaroni….are YOU really the author ? This chapter on the travelblog must be one of my most favourites. It’s christalclear what you do in school, what you like about it, what the differences between Kiwi’s and Yankees are (in schoolsystem anyway) and your blog is radiating fun ! I wish I could write like you. What’s more: I wish I would be your age, and we could go to school together. Then I would be your twin brother. Klaas Demers. Sounds just right !

  10. Your school looks so fun! I am back in SF graphing algebra in math class while you get MATHS class and a try-athalon. Enjoy the rest of your time at the Mount! Hope to see you soon!

    Hint: Maybe stop by SF on your way back to Portsmouth. 🙂

  11. Thayer – The Sudduth girls LOVED your blog post. We are amazed that you get to ride on your scooter to school without shoes. That is super cool. Your school sounds like so much fun. After reading Zoe’s post and your post we really feel like we can imagine what it’s like to live in New Zealand. We miss you so much!

  12. Wow Thayer! You are such a sweet and smart pumpkin pie, I could eat you! I loved reading your blog! I think Andrew could employ you for his magazine! I loved watching your dance moves, your little dance partner will miss you I think! I was wondering if you have written any stories about your time on the farm here at Rangitikei Farmstay? Looking forward to reading Zoe’s blog! Kylie x

  13. Thayer, you will always be a Mountie! I got a good laugh about the difference between ticks at your school and ticks at home. I’m so glad you are enjoying school and making new friends. I miss you a lot and can’t wait to see you in a few months! Love you!

  14. Thayer….as your other friends have said….you will always be a Mountie! I love having you in class and I smile every day because I love all my children (room1) and you have fitted in like you have always been here. I loved reading your comments about school and did not realise how different some things are. You are lucky to have such a wonderful adventure with your family. Love Mrs van de Pol x

  15. Hello Thayer..what an entertaining blog! It is full of great writing, “reporter like” explanations of your day at school, good descriptions of different words (maths) …and all in all you rock. Your life in NZ sounds like so much fun and I envy you all..mostly because it SNOWED HERE AGAIN YESTERDAY and all of us in western Mass are going bonkers. I kid you not.
    So enjoy the sun and waves while you can and store them away somewhere in your soul because you are living and playing in paradise~have fun!
    Lots of love
    Aunt Jean

  16. Hi Thayer–I’ve so enjoyed reading your blog posts–not only on this post but others too. You are such an adventurous little girl–I love your spirit. From your co-piloting a jeep, to your exploring the Maji Moto school, to your gymnastics on the make shift balance beam, catching your first wave, and then Tasting that Sheep’s head–all amazing. In your hip hop video, I see you have true rhythm and you were not intimidated at all–you go girl! I love the beat of La La La Bamba.
    Thayer, I’ve noticed that everything in your school is so colorful–you must like that–everything about YOU is colorful too–bright and beautiful!
    I got a kick out of you saying that occasionally the teacher has to growl at a distracted kid–done that myself–but still love the kid–sometimes teaching can be stressful. When I was a little girl we got stars for good behavior–nice to know that the word “ticks” can have a positive side–keep up the good work!
    Thayer you look so happy in all your photos–you are growing. From all the photos, I’ve noticed that your eyes and expressions are similar to your grandfather Pops. Have you been told that before? My Mom always told me I had some of my grandfather’s features.
    Thank you for sharing your experiences with all of us–it may have been hard work–but you get a Giant Tick for doing it–looking forward to hearing more!

    ps–almost forgot to mention the Try-athylon–great accomplishment!!!

  17. You are a rock star! Loooooove the dance video. I so appreciate your and your sisters’ sharing everything you guys are experiencing. It’s a little mini vacation for me. Mom and dad have to be so proud of you girls. Looking forward to reading more about your adventures to come.

  18. Hip Hop BABY don’t stop! Love the dancing video, Thayer. You did such a great job of capturing all the big and little moments of your Kiwi school days. I know you’ll be sad to leave but exciting Asian adventures await. xoxo pickle

  19. Thayer! We LOVED your dancing video, eagerly awaiting a performance when you make it back to the States. Love, Ashley & Madison

  20. Thayer you are so cute! You look like you’re having so much fun…too much fun…ok you can COME BACK NOW!
    I miss you lots! ❤

Leave a Reply

